Meow

I am seriously considering getting the boys a kitten.

Have I lost my mind?

I’d love for them to get to name a pet, experience kittenish fun, and have it grow up along with them.

Secretly, see, I want a dog! But a cat would be low maintenance, comparatively, especially since we’ve got two already.

After losing Zevo earlier this year, the ratio of humans to cats has gone from 2:1 to 3:1, and it feels off.

It doesn’t help that friends keep posting and e-mailing about the strays they’re fostering who need homes. Like Space Kitten:

Space Kitten

I haven’t had a kitten for almost 20 years. Might be fun.

6 comments
  1. I am similarly yearning, and I’m not even a cat person. Plus I already have a dog.

  2. Cathy said:

    do it! c’mon, you know you want to. 🙂

  3. Kate said:

    I hear you, but my experience with dogs is telling me to tell you to get something that is still “kittenish” but almost cat. Litter trained, possibly already fixed, a little more robust for two young boys.

    • He will be litter trained and fixed before we bring him home.

  4. We’ve been thinking of getting a kitten for Hannah too. She really wants both a kitten and a puppy, but I am just not up for a puppy.

    • A puppy is a whole other level of effort. As I left the house in the rain this morning, I thought of having to do that with a dog every day, multiple times… Kitten.

Leave a Reply

